Grants & Awards

CEWIL Canada Research Grant(s) & Submission Guide

CEWIL Canada Research Grant(s)

The CEWIL Research Grant(s) (value up to: $10,000 CDN each) was established in 2006 to promote research that helps to strengthen the development of co-operative education and work-integrated learning across Canada. The field of co-operative education and work-integrated learning benefits from research that provides a deeper understanding of what engages, encourages, and enriches students, faculty, employers, and staff, as well as studies which analyze various co-op and WIL practices and their outcomes. The grant is available to all co-op and WIL practitioners and researchers.

Why should you consider applying?

  • Connect and collaborate with olleagues across Canada
  • Produce and share meaningful co-operative education or work-integrated learning research
  • Obtain expert feedback, support and motivation to move forward with your ideas
  • Build co-operative education and work-integrated learning credibility within your own institution
  • Elevate you and your institution’s involvement in co-operative education and work-integrated learning
  • Provide a jumpstart for analysis and action in your own co-op or WIL program
  • Extend your continuing education (Masters, PhD) research in new directions
  • Contribute to CEWIL and Canada’s leadership in the domain of work-integrated learning and co-operative education.


 The CEWIL Co-operative Education and WIL Research Grant(s) will be awarded to research that helps to strengthen the development of Canadian co-operative education and WIL. Priority will be given to studies that:

  • Are aligned with the iHub initiatives key priorities:
    • Increase Access
      • Expanding access to WIL opportunities, particularly for under-represented students.
    • Remove Barriers
      • Removing barriers for students to participate in work-integrated learning. 
    • Leverage Technology
      • Enhance programs or extend access, leveraging technology to support virtual or remote WIL experiences. 
    • Innovation & Partnerships
      • Innovating work-integrated learning through new partnerships and new models for curricular WIL.
  • Provide a deeper understanding of what engages, enacts, and enriches students, faculty, employers, and staff 
  • Make reference to and address the significance of findings to the Canadian context.


We are now accepting submissions for the CEWIL Co-operative Education and WIL Research Grant!

CEWIL Research Grant Submission Guidelines 2023

Please complete all applications before the submission deadline on Sunday, April 16, 2023, 4PM PST. 

No content found

Albert S. Barber Award

About this Award



The Albert S. Barber Award was instituted in 1982 to recognize outstanding contributions to the advancement of the philosophy and practice of Co-operative Education in Canada. The award honours Dr. Albert (Bert) S. Barber, the “Father of Co-operative Education in Canada,” who played a major role in paving the way for the promotion and advancement of Co-operative Education in Canada. As a proponent of the co-operative concept, Dr. Barber consulted with universities and colleges across the country and abroad, leading to the introduction of Co-operative Education programs at many educational institutions.

Dr. Barber was instrumental in the creation of CAFCE, now CEWIL, in 1973 and served on many committees of the National Commission on Co-operative Education (New York), and the Co-operative Education Division of the Society of Engineering Education. Dr. Barber was the first Director of Co-operative Education Programs at the University of Waterloo and a recipient of the Canadian Centennial Medal from the Government of Canada for his contributions. Dr. Barber died in 1992 at the age of 85.



Nominees must be members of the Association who have demonstrated service to CEWIL. Nominators must be members of the Association. No member may nominate himself or herself. No member of the Board of Co-operative Education and Work-Integrated Learning Canada will be considered for the award while serving in an executive capacity. Although the award is available annually, there is no commitment by the Nominations and Awards Committee to make a selection each year.







The Albert S. Barber Award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions made to the philosophy and practice of co-operative education in Canada. This award is sponsored by the University of Waterloo.

The following is an excerpt from the nomination application that was submitted for Muriel Klemetski that speaks to her qualifications for this award:

"When one thinks of Muriel Klemetski, one cannot help but think of the extraordinary contributions she has made to both Co-operative Education and Work-Integrated Learning.  Muriel has been a strong voice both provincially and nationally, advocating tirelessly to ensure that all post-secondaries’ involvement in WIL adhere to a very high standard of quality.  Stepping up as the Chair of the Accreditation Council when needed is just one example of her dedication.  Having served with Muriel on accreditation review committees only further showed me how knowledgeable she is and how supportive she is of as many programs achieving accreditation as possible.  Whenever I have had a question about accreditation, or just about how to best manage a Co-op or WIL program, Muriel has been my go-to person!"
- Claudia Sperling, Camosun College


 Previous Recipients:

2016: Norah McRae, University of Victoria
2013: Kirk Patterson, University of Waterloo
2012: Anil Raheja, Memorial University of Newfoundland
2011: Lisa Whalen, Georgian College
2008: Carmen Poulin, University of Ottawa
2006: Sonya Horsburgh, Mount Saint Vincent University
2005: Nancy Johnston, Simon Fraser University
2004: Joanne Thomas, University of Victoria
2003: Natalie Nossal, McMaster University
2002: Shani Pearson, Mount Saint Vincent University
2001: Peter Lapointe, SIAST Palliser Campus
2000: Karen McCargar, Wilfrid Laurier University
1999: Nancy Chiang, University of Waterloo
1998: John Fiset, Concordia University
1998: Michelle Strenkowski, Vancouver Community College
1997: Andrew Crichton, Memorial University of Newfoundland
1996: Graham Branton, University of Victoria
1995: Russ Winslade, Okanagan College
1994: Stuart Koch, Seneca College
1993: Peter Young, Memorial University
1992: Gordon Lancaster, Fanshawe College
1991: James C. Wilson, University of Waterloo
1990: Lane D. Desborough, University of Waterloo
Richard Pullin, University of Waterloo
1989: Gordon Partridge, Mohawk College
1988: Martin Hendy, British Columbia Institute of Technology
1987: Bernie Ladoucier, Sir Sandford Fleming College
1986: Bruce McCallum, University of Guelph
1985: Roy Sadler, IBM
1984: Raymond Wieser, University of Waterloo
1983: Gilles Joncas, University of Sherbrooke

No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found